The purpose of the annual awards program is to recognize important local historic preservation efforts, especially the rehabilitation or restoration of historic buildings in Bowling Green and Warren County.

Nominations come from the Landmark membership and Board recommendations.

The awards are presented at the Annual meeting. Not every category has a winner every year.

2016 Landmark Award Winners

General House Awards

Lisa Carol Sowders – 1177 Kentucky Street
Ed & Cheryl Stevens – 638 East Main Avenue

Jean Thomas Historic Home Award

Erasmus Potter House, “The Castle”
Stephen & Patsy Morgenhaler – 1310 College Street

Landmark Building Awards

Newton Building, “The Spot”
Wes & Loralee Stephens – 326 East Main Avenue

Mariah Moore House
Steamer Restaurant, Dale Augenstein – 801 State Street

Tyler-Adams House
Sustainnovators – 1123 State Street

Ida Lee Willis Award given by the Kentucky Heritage Council

Erasmus Potter House, “The Castle”
Stephen & Patsy Morgenhaler – 1310 College Street

Award Categories

Landmark Building Award
Given to firms, individuals or organizations who have completed significant and sensitive rehabilitations of public, commercial or religious buildings.

Jean Thomason Historic Home Award
Given for the outstanding restoration or rehabilitation of a residence. One is given annually.

General Historic House Award
Given to residences where noticeable and sensitive historic preservation work has recently occurred.

Jane Morningstar Award of Merit
Recognizes additional and substantial work to a previously restored commercial or public building.  One is given annually.  

Heritage Award 
Given to an individual who has made substantial contributions to historic preservation efforts over a period of years.

Cultural Landscape Award
Recognizes outstanding preservation work with historic sites such as historic cemeteries, trails, roads, military fortifications or larger areas such as rural agricultural landscapes.